In All My Free Time….

The stuff I do, when I have free time…

Biscuits and Gravy… April 18, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — boogerwiper @ 6:40 pm
Tags:

So…per the request of some folks over in the UK who have apparently heard about my biscuits and gravy (which I guess is a pretty American dish?)…here is my biscuits and gravy “recipe” (I use the term recipe loosely because I usually eyeball everything).  We are having canned biscuits which are also apparently American because I’ve heard they are not available in the UK.  In that case I would suggest using Bisquick (aka quick baking mix).  In lieu of these two options and you need to make your own biscuits.  Here are a few recipes I found: Quick Biscuits, Southern Gal Biscuits, and Buttermilk Biscuits.

So here goes it…Sausage Gravy…

Ingredients:

3 1/2 cups milk

1 cup + 1 tbsp flour

1/2 lb cooked sausage (i usually cook a whole pound and put away 1/2 for other meals)

3/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon pepper

Thoroughly cook sausage and drain in colander, set aside. 

In the same pan, use a little of the grease from the sausage + 1 tbsp flour to make a roux.

Add in milk and the rest of the flour and stir over a low heat (I think its easier to mix it with a whisk) it will start to thicken up pretty quickly…keep stiring!  After it has thickened up, you can add in the salt and pepper.  This is the right amount of salt and pepper for our family…you may need to add or subtract a little to suit your tastes. 

Add your sausage back in and you are done! 

Split your biscuits open, smother with sausage gravy, and enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

