In All My Free Time….

The stuff I do, when I have free time…

Zuchinni “Meat”balls August 13, 2010

Filed under: Recipe — boogerwiper @ 6:28 pm

Okay, so after the success with my Eggplant Parmesean Sliders I thought I could try another fake out again, because the boys are SO picky.  My friend Sarah mentioned that she didnt like eggplant and I had suggested she try the sliders with zuchinni, I wasnt really feeling the sliders again so instead I thought that meatballs could easily be done with the same general recipe. 

ingredients:

2 decent sized zuchinni

1 cup bread crumbs (you might need more depending on how “wet” the mixture seems)

1/2 cup of parmesean cheese

1 egg

garlic

salt & pepper to taste

olive oil

Preheat oven to 350*.  Heat a couple tbsp of olive oil in the skillet with some garlic (i like garlic, so i had a lot). Peel and chop the zuchinni and sautee in the skillet with a little salt and pepper. Then toss in the food processor and process until it is well blended. Mix in the egg, grated parmesean, and bread crumbs and form into balls.  Bake for 20-25 minutes. 

I made whole wheat penne pasta and topped store bought spaghetti sauce (same organic tomato basil that we had with the Eggplant sliders) and I also put buffalo mozzarella on it…cause well, I l ove it.  The boys dont like spaghetti sauce so they had their noodles with butter and parmesean cheese.  We ate all of our meatballs with no complaint!  Another vegetarian meal success!

(And for those of you keeping track, my kids have eaten eggplant, zuchinni, carrots, and squash without knowing it this week!  The carrots and squash were added to the box mac n cheese…thats a tip from my friend Didi…you really cannot tell the difference!)

 

Leave a Reply

