In All My Free Time….

The stuff I do, when I have free time…

Its not about being… December 13, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — boogerwiper @ 11:38 pm

I realized this weekend after I was talking about what we “do” at Christmas.  I thought I’d write it down in case I get amnesia one day and cant remember how to run Christmas.  And yes, I said run Christmas.  As a kid you dont think about all the careful planning your parents do.  Getting everyone from one place to another.  Balancing the needs and wants from your list and then distributing it amongst the family members.  If you have more than one child you have to make sure its “even”…although when they are small they may not notice…but as time goes on they WILL notice.  You know you did it as a kid.

So now as a mom I had to find a balance between family, traditions, the gift giving portion of Christmas, and the meaning behind it.  I want my kids to think back on Christmas and think about all the fun they had with the family and remember that we were together, not that they got every last thing on their wish list.  I remember Christmas mornings at my grandparent’s house and I remember eating breakfast and the excitement….but not really any of the presents.  Speaking of wishlists, I just want to say that I appreciate my mother’s humor.  One year I asked for peace on earth and a million dollars.  I got a globe with the word “peace” taped on it and a million dollars in fake money.  Gotta love it.  I also want our kids to focus on the religous reasons behind it as well, the “reason for the season” if you will.  This post isnt about to argue with what your beliefs are…we have ours, you have yours…and I’m good with that.  No I’m writing this so that I can have it somewhere easy and accessible if it comes up again, I can just link the people instead of explaining it!

So what works for us?  A couple years ago I found a little poem on a forum that just made it so simple and easy….and we follow it.  And it works.

Something you want, something you need, something to wear, and something to read.

Yes, its that simple.  So how do I maintain it?  My crazy color coded spreadsheet.  I have a spreadsheet and I have each kid’s name in column and then down the rows the categories and when I find the thing to fill it I stick it in there.  I have all the stocking stuffers cataloged and I know what I’ve bought, ordered, what needs to be bought or made.  I know that seems like it might be over the top, but it make it all easier.  The other thing that I’ve noticed is I’m focusing more on quality as opposed to quantity. 

Its not about being thrify, “crunchy”, cheap, grinchy…or any of that…its about being with our family.  Watching our kids grow and love the time they are spending with eachother making memories.  I totally get people who do the over the top Christmas too…they are making the right memories for THEIR family.  I’m so happy that we can live in a place where we can all co-exist and make the memories that will live beyond the hotwheels and baby dolls.  So as the season is in full-on snowball gaining momentum down a hill mode, enjoy your holidays and enjoy making memores with your families!  Happy Holidays folks!

 

One Response to “Its not about being…”

  1. Pixie Says:

    Great post Jess; Happy Holidays =)


Leave a Reply

